From the chemo chair – part 4!

The Grammie is here!! Mom landed last night and before getting the big kid off to school she presented the girls with their Halloween costumes.

IMG_0413.JPG

That’s right, my very own Princess Anna & Queen Elsa from Frozen! How spoiled are these girls?? Not only did Grammie get the Anna boots and the light-up Elsa shoes, she is already being talked into hair accessories. I’m telling you these girls are lucky!!!

IMG_0002.JPG

I’m also incredibly lucky because with Mom here that means Nate was able to come with me to chemo. This is the first time I have actually had some company while I get jacked up.

IMG_0416.JPG

It’s been a rough couple of weeks since my last chemo. I’ve had to have a few abscesses lanced & drained. (I know, super gross!!) This was a recurring problem that I had during pregnancy, which I believe was offset by my then gestational diabetes. They are popping back up now because my immune system is shot. Not fun and for a second they were thinking about pushing my chemo, which had me upset because I don’t want any delays.

This has also led me to realize that it might be time to take a step back from work, so after discussing with the boss lady we are in the process of working through what that looks like with HR. This was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do. I’m not good at acknowledging when I’m in over my head. A good analogy for this was after Munchie was born. About 30 min after she came the nurses asked me if my epidural had worn off enough for me to go use the ladies room. I said sure I feel great lets do it… and then I fell in the bathroom. Like I said, I’m not ever going to tell you I can’t do something.

In the meantime I’m working weekly with my therapist on ways to relax and reduce my stress. To be honest, this is not easy for me as I’m sure it isn’t with most working moms. Nate and I have been brainstorming to come up with some things I can do to chill out including more baths and yoga. I’m also looking into reflexology and acupuncture, but for now on work days Nate makes sure I’m eating cookies in the dark.

IMG_0003.JPG

I would love any tips on anything else that you like to do for relaxation. Let me know what you have for me. My friend Laura just hooked me up with some free guided meditation that I’m looking forward to trying.

Until then I’m soldiering on, and using this as my mantra. I found it hanging on the wall at the oncologist’s office and I love it.

IMG_0004.JPG

Only 2 more to go after this!!

This entry was posted in Breast Cancer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to From the chemo chair – part 4!

  1. Rose, and all the crew at Concord TKD says:

    Hey Meg, a big shout out from Concord TKD! We’re following your blog, helping each other stay posted on your progress and your entries, and DEFINITELY keeping you in our hearts and prayers! You are one Kick-Butt gal, and we’re sending you hugs long distance.

    Like

Leave a comment